Executive Committee Members




Seye Aina


Seye is dual qualified as a Solicitor in the UK and a Solicitor and Advocate in Nigeria. Her career spans over 30 years with experience which includes working for health and professional bodies, in private practice and also for Local Authorities. She has managed legal cases at all levels including her involvement in the first landmark case (in Re: M) considered by the House of Lords under the Children Act 1989.

Her expertise in professional conduct, standards in public life and professional regulation has led to public appointments as an Independent Member of the Standards Committee of the Greater London Authority and the Professional Conduct Committee of the UK Council of Psychotherapy. She has also been an Investigator for organisations such as the Bar Council, the Parliamentary & Health Service Ombudsman and AQA.

Dr Jennifer Obaseki

Vice Chair

Dr. Jennifer Obaseki Multi-Award Winning plus Honorary Ph.D. for Humanitarian work. Chair of FIDA UK plus adviser to NGOs. Expert on Human Rights, BA in Law & Economics from Middlesex and graduate of the University of Law. 16 years PQE.

Founder of Obaseki & Co Ltd an international multi-award-winning Law firm specialising in Property, Commercial Practice and reported UK cases in Immigration. The firm's Private Client and litigation teams are respected due to success in complexed cases.

Due to demand for her expertise, Dr. Obaseki has an extensive consulting practice and delivers legal training sessions Worldwide. obasekisolicitors.com

Babs Akinyanju


Babatunde Akinyanju (Babs) is a legal adviser at the East London Family Court. He advises lay justices on all aspects of Public and Private Law including Child Arrangements Orders, Adoption and Family Law Act matters (Non-Molestation and Occupation Orders) He read law at the University of Lagos and was called to the Nigerian Bar in March 1988.

He requalified as a Solicitor of the Supreme Court of England and Wales in June 1995. Over the past 28 years, Babs has specialized in criminal litigation, family proceedings, licensing and civil litigation. In the course of his career, he has trained Magistrates, Metropolitan Police Officers, Women’s Refuge Groups and members of the Nigerian Judiciary. In 2014 he took a career break and worked as an independent consultant in the law and education sectors in Nigeria. Babs is the longest serving executive member of BNLF: he was elected Vice Chairman from 2007-2009; Chairman from 2009-2015 and is currently its Treasurer.

Other professional memberships include the Justices Clerks’ Society; Law Society of England and Wales, Nigerian Bar Association and the Black Solicitors Network. He is an active supporter of various charities including Lupus UK, Sickle Cell Foundation of Nigeria and Adopt-A- Camp He also serves as a churchwarden at his local parish church.

Juliet Benson

Social Secretary

Juliet is the founder and managing director of J Benson Solicitors Ltd. Since its inception in 2008, Juliet has worked tirelessly to establish the firm and for the firm to gain recognition as a leader in its areas of expertise; Crime, Prison law, Family law and Housing, Immigration and residential and commercial conveyancing, civil litigation and wills and probate. Juliet takes pride in setting a standard of excellence in her profession that is replicated firm-wide.

Juliet previously worked in the Criminal Justice and Policy Department for the Ministry of Justice for 12 years and during this time, was involved in establishing the Proceeds of Crime Act 2003 and its enforcement mechanism. She was involved in developing the use of video Links for vulnerable witnesses in England and Wales and also developed the Legal Aid Best Practice Workbook Manual for Her Majesty’s Court Services.

A dual-qualified lawyer in both England and the Republic of Nigeria.

Juliet is an active member of the community and is involved in many projects to advance community welfare and interests both in the UK and overseas. She is also the CEO of Arlington International Consultancy, a cross-border organisation consulting on legal issues in the UK and in Nigeria.

Juliet is passionate about access to justice and participates in pro bono events to ensure that legal advice and assistance is available to as many as possible regardless of their circumstances, hence the creation of the CANUK Annual Legal Awareness Day in 2017.

Genevieve Wakeley-Jones

Committee Member

Coming Soon!

Kash Balogun

Membership Secretary

Kash Balogun is a Consultant Solicitor at Keystone Law, an award winning Top 20 UK law firm, having previously been the head of the Africa team at BDB Pitmans LLP following stints at Clifford Chance and Skadden Arps.

He specialises in commercial litigation and international arbitration with a particular focus on oil and gas, construction and mega-infrastructure disputes that relate to or originate from the sub-Saharan Africa Region.

He is member of the Technology and Construction Solicitors Association (TecSA); the Society of Construction Law (SCL); the Commercial Litigation Association (CLAN) and the London Solicitors Litigation Association (LSLA).

Janet Latinwo

Committee Member

Coming Soon!

Toks Hussain

Co-Head Junior Lawyers Division

Toks Hussain is the Co-Head of the BNLF Junior Lawyers Division. He has a specialism in international law and currently works in the United Nations.

He's a member of the Honourable Society of Lincoln's Inn and previously served as a Governor in the Royal Borough of Greenwich.